Review – Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone

August 19, 2012 § 1 Comment

Amelia Anne is Dead and GoneAmelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Amelia Anne is dead and gone but she apparently left behind her thesaurus because her story was quite adjective-alicious. But, once I waded through the overabundance of metaphors and descriptive prose, it was a fairly ok read….until the last 30 or so pages. That ending was bullshit. I was so angry about the fact that I had been drawn in to the suspense of this murder/mystery only to be rewarded with some half ass muddle-muck of an ending. Not to mention that it just WOULD NOT, COULD NOT logically have happened that way.

Click to View Spoiler

Show/hide

This less than perfect ending, the overly descriptive writing, and the fact that I found the main character, Becca, to be utterly unlikable, left me a rather grumpy reader after finishing this book. I guess one could look at it as Becca was a “flawed” main character, but I just thought she was nothing but angst and asshattery. This is an example of some of her “personality”

“Rebecca Williams?”
“That’s me,” I said, hoisting my backpack. The fat girl-whose named turned out to be, hilariously, Bonnie Biggs-smiled and waved at me.

Ugh. Needless to say, I did not enjoy Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone and certainly don’t recommend it. However, there are other people who thought that this was a wonderful story and if you’re at all curious about this book, take a look at Wendy’s review here for another perspective.

View all my reviews

§ One Response to Review – Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone

  • Oh my, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy this one, Donna! I didn't love this one as much as I originally thought I would (and I agree with you about the ending). Still, I found the overall story and writing compelling enough that I rated it highly, though.Hope your next read is better…and thanks for linking to my review, too.Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review – Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone at The Happy Booker.

meta

